What is the Silent University Ruhr

Bild Von Justin Für Vortrag Politische Partizipation Am 28 9 2018, Copyright Björn Stork | polynice

The Silent University is an autonomous platform for sharing and exchanging knowledge for academics who are refugees or asylum seekers. Refugees who come to Germany are not allowed to work to begin with. They cannot use their knowledge and skills and their university degrees are often not recognized.


In 2012, the Kurdish artist Ahmet Öğüt became aware of the fate of refugees and asylum seekers with an academic background when he was in London doing research for an exhibition in the Tate Modern. His idea was to end this enforced silence. He initiated the Silent University in London; there are now sister universities Stockholm, Hamburg, Amman (Jordan) Athens and – since the Impulse Theater Festival 2015 – in Mülheim an der Ruhr. Refugees and asylum seekers have become lecturers and advisors.

Polynice Ringlokschuppen Dezentrale 18 05 2018 8 Von 30, Copyright Björn Stork | polynice

Refugee and an Academic?

If you taught, worked or studied in your home country and want to keep your knowledge and expertise alive here, then we are looking for your knowledge and your experience! The Silent University Ruhr (~University for disused knowledge) is a meeting place for refugee academics who want to cultivate and share their expertise. The Silent University creates space for open discussions and also offers room to retreat and work on your own. Refugees and asylum seekers can teach here and learn from each other as well.
If you are interested in developing lectures, seminars or workshops or in sharing ideas with others, please get in touch or come and visit us. You are also welcome to send us an email in your own language.

Polynice Ringlokschuppen Dezentrale 23 Von 27, Copyright Björn Stork | polynice

Contac ​Silent University Ruhr​

www.silentuniversity.ruhr
Leineweberstr. 15–17
45468 Mülheim an der Ruhr
Opening times: Mon. and Wed. 10.00 to 13.00, Thursday 14.00 to 17.00
and on appointment

info@silentuniversity.ruhr

Tel.: 0208 - 993 16 73

Omar Mohamad

Pressestimmen

Polynice Ringlokschuppen Dezentrale 1 Von 27, Copyright Björn Stork | polynice
  • Kultur im Ringlokschuppen e.V. 2017. Alle Rechte vorbehalten

Was ist die Silent University Ruhr

Die Silent University ist eine autonome Wissens- und Austauschplattform für Akademiker*innen, die geflüchtet oder auf Asylsuche sind. Flüchtlinge, die nach Deutschland kommen, dürfen zunächst nicht arbeiten. Ihr Wissen und ihre Fähigkeiten können sie nicht einsetzen, Hochschulabschlüsse werden häufig nicht anerkannt. 

Der kurdische Künstler Ahmet Öğüt wurde 2012 auf das Schicksal von Geflüchteten und Asylbewerbern mit akademischen Hintergrund aufmerksam, als er in London für eine Ausstellung an der Tate Modern recherchierte. Seine Idee war es, das erzwungene Schweigen zu beenden. Er initiierte die Silent University in London; Geschwister-Universitäten gibt es in Stockholm, Hamburg, Amman (Jordanien), Athen und – seit dem Impulse Theater Festival 2015 – in Mülheim an der Ruhr. Hier werden Geflüchtete und Asylbewerber*innen zu Dozierenden und Beratenden.

Geflüchtet und Akademiker*in?

Sie haben in Ihrem Heimatland gelehrt, gearbeitet oder studiert und möchten Ihr Wissen und Ihre Fähigkeiten lebendig halten? Wir suchen Ihr Wissen und Ihre Erfahrung! Die Silent University Ruhr (~Universität für stillgelegtes Wissen) in Mülheim ist ein Treffpunkt für geflüchtete Akademiker* innen, die ihre Expertise pflegen und weitergeben wollen. Die Silent University schafft Raum für offene Diskussionen und bietet Rückzugsmöglichkeiten zum individuellen Arbeiten. Geflüchtete und Asylsuchende können hier lehren und voneinander lernen.

Wenn Sie Interesse haben, Vorträge, Seminare oder Workshops zu entwickeln oder sich mit anderen austauschen wollen: Melden Sie sich bei uns oder kommen Sie vorbei. Sie können sehr gerne auch eine Mail in Ihrer Muttersprache schicken.

Kontakt ​Silent University Ruhr​

www.silentuniversity.ruhr

Leineweberstr. 15–17
45468 Mülheim an der Ruhr
Geöffnet Mo, Mi 10–13 Uhr, Do 14–17 Uhr
sowie nach Absprache

Kirsten Ben Haddou
Koordination Silent University Ruhr
benhaddou@silentuniversity.ruhr
Tel.: 0208 - 993 16 73