City Portraits - Gesichter einer Stadt

Local Agents & Mülheimer*innen

Interviewproject
April - June 2020 ARK Mülheim

A city has more than a thousand windows. We want to make a section of it visible and let very different people have their say and become visible.

As part of the ARK Mülheim project, we get to know people from Mülheim an der Ruhr and talk to them about their lives in the city. How do they experience their life here? Which places are important to them? What makes Mülheim special for them? What is good and what needs to change in the future? What connects people and where are there missing points of contact between them?

Our team of local agents - people with multilingual skills and access to various Mülheim communities - are currently conducting interviews that show Mülheim in all its diversity. Very different people have their say. We conduct conversations in German, English, French, Turkish, Arabic, Ounjabi, Hini, Urdu ...

The interviews will be shown as video portraits in the exhibition "City Portraits - Faces of a City", which opens our summer program as part of ARK Mülheim. In addition, the interviews will be visible on a digital map of the city. The map traces Mülheim as a diversified city and opens up to different perspectives and voices.

CLICK HERE FOR THE CITY MAP!

9091 A97 F 9 A0 E 4 D57 A0 A0 420 A520425 FE v2a office

Local Agents:

Storkfoto Ringlok Ma Protraits19Von22

Paula Kuhn

Paula Kuhn is 23 years old and began studying communication science and applied philosophy at the University of Duisburg-Essen in 2017. She expects to complete her bachelor's degree in 2021. As part of her studies, she is addressing face-to-face communication, emergency communication, and human-technology communication. Her further interests lie in the areas of political communication and political philosophy.

Storkfoto Ringlok Portraits 21 Von 24

Christopher Koczor

Born on 25 September 1984 in Erfurt. Christopher moved to Mülheim with his mother in 1990. He grew up in Mülheim an der Ruhr and completed his apprenticeship at Vallourec (formerly Mannesmann). He has also been working there as a foreman since then. He has been breakdancingsince he was 12 years old and and continues to dance to this day. Dancing remains his great passion. In the near future, he will have projects in youth work as well as preparing the youth for the breakdancing competition at the 2024 Olympics in Paris.

Storkfoto Ringlok Portraits 23 Von 24

Gilberte Raymonde Driesen

German born in Senegal. She studied German and teaching in Dakar and Graz, Austria and worked as a secondary school teacher in Senegal. She is active in the areas of migration, integration, intercultural competence, diversity, global learning, and international school partnerships. She is currently working as a project manager in the diversity department at the CBE (Center for Civic Engagement) in Mülheim, while at Engagement Global she advises and trains teachers, speakers, and students on issues related to racism, forms of discrimination, intersectional perspectives, and empowerment for BIPoC. In addition, she works as a volunteer with disadvantaged families with migration or refugee histories and leads local and global projects for a global society with greater mutual respect.

Storkfoto Ringlok Portraits 4 Von 24

Falak Sher

born in Punjab, Pakistan in 1985. He came to Germany in 2006 to study electrical and electronics engineering at the University of Duisburg-Essen. He has been working in the field of energy management since 2011. He is married with three children and is passionate about playing and following cricket and golf. When time allows, he likes to go to the theatre and cinema and Pakistani folk music is also one of his passions.

Storkfoto Ringlok Portraits 10 Von 24

Omar Mohamad

studied business administration in Syria and event management in Germany. Since 2016, he has been volunteering in various projects, especially in the Ruhr area. "I am very interested in intercultural projects and work with each other instead of working next to another." He is also a member of the Grün-Bunte list for the integration council of the city of Mülheim.

Storkfoto Ringlok Portraits 3 Von 24

Yazan Abo Hassoun

Performer, theater educator. Since 2017 active in the theater group RUHRORTER in Mülheim, the group works continuously, on a publicly visible corrective against the stigmatization and categorization of refugees and deals with the institutional and social exclusion of refugees.Since 2019 activities in the Ringlokschuppen: Intercultural mediation, development and supervision of cultural scouts, direct marketing, target group research, translation.

P1170300

Sarah Rurka

Sarah Rurka is an event manager and musician from Mülheim an der Ruhr. She has been involved in the cultural landscape in Mülheim for several years, e.g. with the association Regler Produktion at the open-air stage and the Autonomous Center, and has been organizing live streams and online events since last year.

Gefördert durch

City Portraits - Gesichter einer Stadt

Local Agents & Mülheimer*innen

Videoprojekt
April - Juni 2020 ARK Mülheim

Info: Die digitale Stadtkarte wird im April veröffentlicht. Stay tuned!

21 Rls Sommer Website

Eine Stadt hat mehr als tausend Fenster. Wir wollen einen Ausschnitt davon sichtbar machen und ganz verschiedene Menschen zu Wort kommen und sichtbar werden lassen.

Im Rahmen des Projekts ARK Mülheim lernen wir Menschen aus Mülheim an der Ruhr kennen und sprechen mit ihnen über ihr Leben in der Stadt. Wie erleben sie hier ihr Leben? Welche Orte sind ihnen wichtig? Was macht Mülheim für sie aus? Was ist gut und was muss sich zukünftig verändern? Was verbindet die Menschen und wo fehlen Berührungspunkte untereinander?

Unser Team von Local Agents – das sind Menschen mit mehrsprachiger Kompetenz und Zugang zu verschiedenen Mülheimer Communitys – führen gerade Interviews, in denen sich Mülheim in all seiner Vielfalt zeigt. Ganz unterschiedliche Menschen kommen zu Wort. Wir führen Gespräche auf Deutsch, Englisch, Franszözisch, Türkisch, Arabisch, Ounjabi, Hini, Urdu ...

Die Interviews werden als Videoportraits in der Ausstellung "City Portraits - Gesichter einer Stadt" zu sehen sein, die als Teil von ARK Mülheim unser Sommerprogramm eröffnet. Darüberhinaus werden die Gespräche auf einer digitalen Stadtkarte sichtbar werden. Die Karte zeichnet Mülheim als diversifizierte Stadt nach und öffnet sich unterschiedlichen Perspektiven und Stimmen.

Gefördert von der Kunststiftung NRW und Kofinanziert durch das Programm Kreatives Europa der Europäischen Union.

Local Agents:

Paula Kuhn

Paula Kuhn

Paula Kuhn ist 23 Jahre alt und begann 2017 ihr Studium der Kommunikationswissenschaft und angewandter Philosophie an der Universität Duisburg-Essen. Ihren Bachelor wird sie voraussichtlich im Jahr 2021 abschließen. Im Rahmen ihres Studiums beschäftigt sie sich mit Face-to-Face Kommunikation, Notfallkommunikation und der Mensch-Technik Kommunikation. Ihre weiteren Interessen liegen im Bereich der politischen Kommunikation und der politischen Philosophie.

Christopher Koczor

Christopher Koczor

Geb. am 25.09.1984 in Erfurt. 1990 mit seiner Mutter nach Mülheim gezogen. In Mülheim an der Ruhr aufgewachsen und seine Lehre bei Vallourec (ehemals Mannesmann) abgeschlossen. Seitdem auch dort als Vorarbeiter tätig. Seit dem 12.Lebensjahr tanzt er Breakdance und tut dies immer noch. Tanzen ist seine große Leidenschaft. In naher Zukunft stehen Projekte in der Jugendarbeit an, sowie die Vorbereitung der Jugend im Breakdance auf Olympia 2024 in Paris.

Gilberte Raymonde Driesen

Gilberte Raymonde Driesen

gebürtige Senegalesin und Deutsche. Sie hat in Dakar, sowie auch in Graz/Österreich Germanistik und Lehramt studiert und im Senegal als Gymnasiallehrerin gearbeitet. Sie ist in den Bereichen Migration, Integration, interkulturelle Kompetenz, Diversität, Globales Lernen und internationale Schulpartnerschaften tätig. Zurzeit arbeitet Sie als Projektleiterin im Bereich Vielfalt beim CBE (Centrum für bürgerschaftliches Engagement) in Mülheim, Nebenberuflich berät und trainiert Sie bei Engagement Global Lehrkräfte, Referent*innen und Schüler*innen im Bezug auf Rassismus, Diskriminierungsformen, intersektionale Perspektive und Empowerment für BIPoC. Außerdem begleitet Sie ehrenamtlich benachteiligte Familien mit Migrations- und Fluchtgeschichten und leite lokale und globale Projekte für ein besseres „Miteinander und voneinander der Weltgesellschaft“.

Falak Sher

Falak Sher

geboren in Punjab, Pakistan 1985. 2006 kam er für ein Studium nach Deutschland. An der Universität Duisburg Essen hat Er Elektrotechnik (Electrical and Electronics Engineering) studiert. Seit 2011 arbeitet er im Bereich der Energie Wirtschaft. Er ist verheiratet und hat drei Kinder, spielt und folgt leidenschaftlich Cricket und Golf. Wenn es Zeitlich passt besucht Er gerne Theater und Kino, auch pakistanische Volk (Folk) Musik ist eine seiner Leidenschaften.

Omar Mohamad

Omar Mohamad

studierte in Syrien Betriebswirtschaftslehre und in Deutschland Veranstaltungskaufmann. Seit 2016 engagiert er sich ehrenamtlich in diversen Projekten insbesondere im Ruhrgebiet. „Ich bin an interkulturellen Projekten und Arbeiten sehr interessiert und miteinander, statt neben ein anderer zu arbeiten. Außerdem ist er Mitglied der Grün-Bunte-Liste für den Integrationsrat der Stadt Mülheim.

Yazan Abo Hassoun

Yazan Abo Hassoun

Performer, Theaterpädagoge. Seit 2017 tätig in der Theatergruppe RUHRORTER in Mülheim, die Gruppe arbeitet kontinuierlich, an einem öffentlich sichtbaren Korrektiv gegen die Stigmatisierung und Kategorisierung von Geflüchteten und setzt sich mit der institutionellen und sozialen Ausgrenzung von Geflüchteten auseinander.
-Seit 2019 Tätigkeiten im Ringlokschuppen: Interkulturelle Vermittlung, Aufbau und Betreuung von Kulturscouts, direkt Marketing, Zielgruppenrecherche, Übersetzung

Sarah Rurka

Sarah Rurka

ist Veranstaltungskauffrau und Musikerin aus Mülheim an der Ruhr. Seit mehreren Jahren engagiert sie sich in der Kulturlandschaft in Mülheim wie z.B. bei dem Verein Regler Produktion in der Freilichtbühne und im Autonomen Zentrum und organisiert Seit letztem Jahr vornehmlich Live Streams und Online Veranstaltungen.

Eintritt frei

Gefördert durch