Historic Background

Mx 2651 20201216 162740 0001

Monument to industrial culture

"The former ring shed of the Broich railway station was established around 1875. It has existed in its present form since 1918. In the years 1914-1918, the semi-circular, single-storey hall was converted for buses, i.e. as a motor vehicle hall. The brick, steel and glass construction, which has survived unchanged, is a very rare example of this type of industrial building. The facility is significant for the history of man, working and production conditions."

Date of registration as a monument from 06 October 1988

The building, constructed around the turn of the century as part of the then Reichsbahn repair works in Speldorf, was used to house steam locomotives until the destruction of the turntable in front of it in 1943, which were supplied from the associated water tower. From the 1950s onwards, the roundhouse housed the central office of the federal railway buses until 1968, after which it was used only as a repair workshop by a haulage company based on the site.

Mx 2651 20201216 162740 0002

For the State Garden Show in 1992, the area between the Ruhr and the roundhouse was redesigned into a large park and the building was completely restructured and expanded in consultation with the monument protection authority.

Today, there are four theatre stages inside the building and in front of it an open-air stage at the site of the former turntable. The Ringlokschuppen Ruhr is a co-production venue for contemporary theatre, performance and dance in Mülheim. Regional and international artists, current social discourses and diverse art forms come together here. In addition to the large number of productions in the theatre space, the theatre initiates participatory art projects in urban space.

Denkmal der Industriekultur

Mx 2651 20201216 162740 0001

"Der ehemalige Ringschuppen des Broicher Bahnhofs wurde um 1875 eingerichtet. In seiner heutigen Form besteht er seit 1918. In den Jahren 1914-1918 wurde die halbkreisförmige, eingeschossige Halle für Busse, also als Kraftwagenhalle umgebaut. Die in unverändertem Bauzustand überkommene Backstein- Stahl- un Glaskonstruktion ist ein inzwischen sehr selten gewordenes Beispiel dieser Industriebaugattung. Die Anlage ist bedeutend für die Geschichte des Menschen, Arbeits- und Produktionsverhältnisse."

Tag der Eintragung als Denkmal vom 06. Oktober 1988

Das Gebäude, entstanden um die Jahrhundertwende im Rahmen des damaligen Reichsbahnausbesserungswerks Speldorf, diente bis zur Zerstörung der vorgelagerten Drehscheibe im Jahre 1943 zur Unterstellung von Dampflokomotiven, die vom zugehörigen Wasserturm versorgt wurden. Ab den fünfziger Jahren war im Ringlokschuppen bis 1968 die Zentralstelle der Bundesbahnbusse untergebracht und anschließend von einem im Gelände ansässigen Fuhrunternehmen lediglich als Reparaturwerkstatt genutzt.

Mx 2651 20201216 162740 0002

Zur Landesgartenschau 1992 wurde das Gelände zwischen Ruhr und Ringlokschuppen zu einem großen Park umgestaltet und das Gebäude in Absprache mit dem Denkmalschutz komplett um- und ausgebaut.

Heute befinden sich vier Theaterbühnen im Inneren des Gebäudes und davor eine Freilichtbühne am Ort der ehemaligen Drehscheibe. Der Ringlokschuppen Ruhr ist heute ein Koproduktionshaus für zeitgenössisches Theater, Performance und Tanz. Regional und international agierende Künstler*innen, aktuelle Gesellschaftsdiskurse und vielfältige Kunstformen treffen hier aufeinander. Neben einer Vielzahl von Arbeiten im Theaterraum initiiert das Haus partizipatorische Kunstprojekte im Stadtraum.