Impulse Theater Festival

Festival
June 09 – 19 2022

The Impulse Theatre Festival has been the leading platform for independent theatre in the German-speaking countries for thirty years. Every year NRW KULTURsekretariat's Impulse Festival presents exemplary works that have been produced outside the classic system of city theatres that test, expand and question the medium of theatre. Many of the artistic innovations that have brought theatre in the German language alive in recent decades – such as Rimini Protokoll, René Pollesch and She She Pop – have been seen at Impulse, being discovered there by the theatre world and the press and gaining an international reputation.

Impulse Theatre Festival 2022 will take place from 9 – 19. June in Mülheim an der Ruhr, Düsseldorf and Cologne. More information on the programme will follow.

Artistic Director for the festivals from 2018 to 2020 — and since his re-appointment for three further festivals until 2023 — is the curator, dramaturg and theatre researcher Haiko Pfost. Under his leadership, the festival could already continue to extend its role as the meeting point for the independent theatre from all German-speaking countries while simultaneously generating enthusiasm for independent theatre among new audiences. The three core programmes — SHOWCASE, ACADEMY and CITY PROJECT — rotate each year between the three partner institutions studiobühneköln, FFT Düsseldorf and Ringlokschuppen Ruhr.

SHOWCASE - Mülheim an der Ruhr + Esse
The showcase presents a chance to see outstanding productions of the past year and the most interesting newcomers of the season: these are challenging works that represent a plurality of diverse theatre forms and aesthetics and in that plurality epitomize independent theatre. Assessment is carried out by the six-strong Impulse jury that meets once a year to discuss suggestions for the programme. It consists of Impulse’s artistic team, regional scouts and a representative from the audience of its showcase partner.

ACADEMY - Köln
The Impulse ACADEMY regards itself as forum that is key to understanding the identity of independent theatre. Workshops, lectures, panels and experimental formats will consider issues arising out of independent theatre-making practice: its annual chosen themes cover aesthetic and political questions as well as financial and production matters. The Impulse ACADEMY is aimed primarily at professional theatremakers, students, producers and academics but does not exclude interested members of the public.

CITY PROJECT - Düsseldorf
The CITY PROJECT combines urgent issues of our time with a local context — a working method within the performing arts developed by independent theatre. It is particularly accessible in terms of form and encourages a wide audience to sample independent theatre.

Programm Showcase

EXTINCTION ROOM (HOPELESS.)
SERGIU MATIS
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase as part of the opening (compact version) Thursday 09. June 2022, 19.00 Uhr / Saturday 11. June 2022, 20.00 Uhr
PCCC*
KILLJOYS & QUEERS
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase → Friday 10. June 2022, 22.00 Uhr
AIR PRESSURE: A DIARY OF THE SKY
LAWRENCE ABU HAMDAN
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase → Saturday 11. June 2022, 19.00 Uhr
THE KIDS ARE ALRIGHT
SIMONE DEDE AYIVI UND KOMPLIZ*INNEN
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase as part of the opening Thursday 09. June 2022, 19.00 Uhr / Friday 10. June 2022, 19.00 Uhr / Saturday 11. June 2022, 22.00 Uhr / Thursday 16. June 2022, 19.00 Uhr / Friday 17. June 2022, 19.00 Uhr
Lovesong
DANIEL DOMINGUEZ TERUEL
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase as part of the opening Thursday 09. June 2022, 19.00 Uhr
MADAMA BUTTERFLY – EIN INTERNATIONALES REWRITE MIT YELLOW BUTTERFLIES, AVATAREN UND SAILOR MOON
SATOKO ICHIHARA
Performance / Theater / Tanz Thursday 16. June 2022, 21.00 Uhr / Saturday 18. June 2022, 21.00 Uhr
QUEENS. DER HETERACLUB
SIBYLLE PETERS
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase → 15. JUN | 15.00 + 17.00 + 19.00 + 21.00 Uhr / 16. JUN | 15.00 + 17.00 + 19.00 + 21.00 Uhr / 17. JUN | 15.00 + 17.00 + 19.00 + 21.00 Uhr / 18. JUN | 15.00 + 17.00 + 19.00 + 21.00 Uhr
PRECARIOUS MOVES
MICHAEL TURINSKY
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase → Friday 10. June 2022, 20.30 Uhr / Friday 17. June 2022, 21.00 Uhr / Saturday 18. June 2022, 19.00 Uhr

Ort Ringlokschuppen | Am Schloß Broich 38 | 45479 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Eine Koproduktion von

Gefördert durch

Impulse Theater Festival 2022

Festival
09. – 19. Juni 2022

Das Impulse Theater Festival ist seit dreißig Jahren die wichtigste Plattform für das freie Theater im deutschsprachigen Raum. Jährlich zeigen die Impulse des NRW KULTURsekretariats modellhafte Arbeiten, die jenseits des klassischen Stadttheaterapparats produziert wurden und das Theater als Medium testen, erweitern und befragen. Viele der ästhetischen Neuerungen, die in den letzten Jahrzehnten das deutschsprachige Theater belebt haben, waren bei Impulse zu sehen, wurden dort von der Theaterszene und der Presse entdeckt und international bekannt gemacht.

Das Impulse Theater Festival 2022 findet vom 9. – 19. Juni in Mülheim an der Ruhr, Düsseldorf und Köln statt.

Künstlerischer Leiter für die Festivalausgaben 2018 bis 2020 und nach seiner Verlängerung für drei weitere Ausgaben bis 2023 ist der Kurator, Dramaturg und Theaterwissenschaftler Haiko Pfost. Unter seiner Leitung konnte das Festival seine Funktion als Treffpunkt der Freien Szene des gesamten deutschsprachigen Raums bereits weiter ausbauen und hat gleichzeitig neue Publikumsgruppen für das Freie Theater begeistert. Die drei Programmschwerpunkte SHOWCASE, AKADEMIE und STADTPROJEKT wechseln jährlich zwischen den drei Partnerinstitutionen studiobühneköln, FFT Düsseldorf und Ringlokschuppen Ruhr.

SHOWCASE - Mülheim an der Ruhr + Essen
Im SHOWCASE sind die herausragenden Positionen der vergangenen Spielzeit und die interessantesten Newcomer der Saison zu sehen: herausfordernde Arbeiten, die eine Vielfalt unterschiedlicher Theaterformen und Ästhetiken repräsentieren und gerade in dieser Vielfalt modellhaft für die Freie Szene sind. Die Sichtungen übernimmt der sechsköpfige Impulse-Beirat, der jährlich zusammenkommt, um Programmvorschläge zu diskutieren. Er besteht aus dem künstlerischen Team der Impulse, regionalen Scouts sowie einem*r Publikumsvertreter*in des SHOWCASE-Partners.

AKADEMIE - Köln
Die Impulse-AKADEMIE versteht sich als zentraler Ort der Selbstverständigung des Freien Theaters. In Workshops, Vorträgen, Panels und experimentellen Formaten werden Fragen aus der Praxis des Freien Theaterschaffens behandelt: Die jährlichen Themenschwerpunkte umfassen ästhetische und politische Fragen ebenso wie Ökonomie und Produktionsbedingungen. Die Impulse-AKADEMIE wendet sich vor allem an professionelle Theaterschaffende, Studierende, Produzent*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen, schließt aber auch die interessierte Öffentlichkeit nicht aus.

Akademie #1 – Un/Safe Spaces
Akademie #2 – Ar/ctivism

STADTPROJEKT - Düsseldorf
Das STADTPROJEKT verknüpft gesellschaftliche Fragen mit einem lokalen Kontext und den Anliegen lokaler Akteur*innen — eine Herangehensweise darstellender Kunst, die in der Freien Szene entstanden ist. Die Formate sind besonders zugänglich und laden ein breites Publikum dazu ein, das Freie Theater kennenzulernen.

Programm Showcase

EXTINCTION ROOM (HOPELESS.)
SERGIU MATIS
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase Als Teil der Eröffnung (kompakte Version) Donnerstag 09. Juni 2022, 19.00 Uhr / Samstag 11. Juni 2022, 20.00 Uhr
PCCC*
KILLJOYS & QUEERS
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase → Freitag 10. Juni 2022, 22.00 Uhr
AIR PRESSURE: A DIARY OF THE SKY
LAWRENCE ABU HAMDAN
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase → Samstag 11. Juni 2022, 19.00 Uhr
THE KIDS ARE ALRIGHT
SIMONE DEDE AYIVI UND KOMPLIZ*INNEN
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase Als Teil der Eröffnung Donnerstag 09. Juni 2022, 19.00 Uhr / Freitag 10. Juni 2022, 19.00 Uhr / Samstag 11. Juni 2022, 22.00 Uhr / Donnerstag 16. Juni 2022, 19.00 Uhr / Freitag 17. Juni 2022, 19.00 Uhr
LOVESONG
DANIEL DOMINGUEZ TERUEL
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase Als Teil der Eröffnung Donnerstag 09. Juni 2022, 19.00 Uhr
MADAMA BUTTERFLY – EIN INTERNATIONALES REWRITE MIT YELLOW BUTTERFLIES, AVATAREN UND SAILOR MOON
SATOKO ICHIHARA
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase → Donnerstag 16. Juni 2022, 21.00 Uhr / Samstag 18. Juni 2022, 21.00 Uhr
QUEENS. DER HETERACLUB
SIBYLLE PETERS
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase → 15. JUN | 15.00 + 17.00 + 19.00 + 21.00 Uhr / 16. JUN | 15.00 + 17.00 + 19.00 + 21.00 Uhr / 17. JUN | 15.00 + 17.00 + 19.00 + 21.00 Uhr / 18. JUN | 15.00 + 17.00 + 19.00 + 21.00 Uhr
PRECARIOUS MOVES
MICHAEL TURINSKY
Impulse Theater Festival - Showcase → Freitag 10. Juni 2022, 20.30 Uhr / Freitag 17. Juni 2022, 21.00 Uhr / Samstag 18. Juni 2022, 19.00 Uhr

Ort Ringlokschuppen | Am Schloß Broich 38 | 45479 Mülheim an der Ruhr

Eine Koproduktion von

Gefördert durch